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NWO Rules
NWO (“New World 

Order”) cards come in 
three colors: Red, Yellow, 
and Blue. One of each color 
may be in play.

NWOs are played to the center 
of the table, and the rules on NWO cards affect all 
players. They take effect as soon as played. They 
last until they are removed or replaced.

NWO cards never go into a player’s hand. 
When a player draws an NWO, he plays it 
immediately and draws a replacement card. If an 
NWO of the same color is already in play, the old 
one is discarded and the new one replaces it.

If a NWO is resurrected from the discards, it is 
played immediately, but the player does not get to 
draw or resurrect another card.

Power Changes
Many NWOs increase or decrease BOTH the 

Power and Resistance of specific alignments. 
These modifiers are printed in large type to make 
them easy for all players to read. For instance, 
Supermajority says:

Liberal +2
Conservative -2

So the Power AND Resistance of all Liberal 
groups is increased by 2 while this card is in 
play, and the Power AND Resistance of all 
Conservative groups is reduced by 2.
s Transferable Power is not changed by 

NWOs.
s If a group has 0 power, NWO cards do not 

give it power. A NWO can reduce the power of 
a group to 0, and in that case, the group cannot 
make attacks or be destroyed. Neither Power nor 
Resistance can be reduced below 0.
s When a NWO changes the Power of a group, 

the new Power is effective for all purposes unless 
a card specifies otherwise. In particular, Power 
bonuses from NWOs do count toward Special 
Goals such as those of the Bavarian Illuminati.

Getting Rid of a NWO
At any time during your turn, you may “attack” 

a NWO card as though it had a Resistance of 10. 
Only your Illuminati’s money and power may be 
used. This does not count as an action.

Other players’ Illuminati may spend to 
interfere on either side. Again, only the money of 
the Illuminati group itself may be used.

If you win, that NWO is discarded. If you 
lose, the NWO remains in effect.

You may not attack the same NWO more than 
once per turn.


